Reflections

18/08/10 marks 27 years of my existence on this earth. It was then that my mother bore me. 10/07/2010 marked 6 years of my living on this earth. It was then that my Lord met me. In both years, I have a gift that some do not possess-the gift of time. I can choose to spend it wisely or foolishly. In the former, I enjoy the benefits. In the latter, I suffer the consequences. I am no longer a child. The privilege of another cleaning up my mess or that of being coerced to make a beneficial choice is long gone. I believe I have reached that time in a man’s life when he yearns to take his place in the issues that affect humanity. I also believe Ralph Waldo Emerson observed this in every man’s life and penned it so candidly… “There is a time in every man’s education when he arrives at the conviction that envy is ignorance; that imitation is suicide; that he must take himself for better for worse as his portion; that though the wise universe is full of good, no kernel of nourishing corn can come to him but through his toil bestowed on that plot of ground which is given to him to till. The power which resides in him is new in nature and none but he knows what that is which he can do, nor does he know until he has tried”.

Martin Luther King Jr. experienced this power when the righteous defiance of Rosa Parks gave him a platform that fanned his gift of speaking into flames. It is in pursuing this cause that his life demanded examination for as Plato noted, a life that is unexamined is not worth living. Men examined him and he won much accolade from a majority. However, if he did not take time to examine himself before the Lord, then his life was a waste. As surely as men will examine our lives, we ought to examine ourselves before the Lord. It is a much greater honour to receive praise from the lips of God than from those of men. It is in this regard that we ought to have “pit stops” – times and seasons when we break off from the hustle and bustle, and reflect on our dear lives. Every 10th of July offers me this period of reflection. This year, the most sensible thing I can do is to renew my vows to the Lord…

The true Lover of my soul;
Who picked me from the pit of sin,
A helpless worm in a dark hole,
And crowned me with love and compassion.

The one whose face I long to behold,
Whose embrace I long to relish,
Whom I long to be found in His fold,
And hear those words I cherish,

…”well done good and faithful servant”.

To Him I vow to be humble and to fear,
For therein lie wealth, honour and life.

To Him I vow to serve faithfully with all my heart,
To not turn away after useless Idols,
For they can do me no good nor can they rescue me
Only Christ could rescue me from the clutch of sin
And usher me into the Father’s glorious presence.

Now my life has meaning and purpose.

To Him I commit these vows.
He who calls me is faithful
He will sanctify me through and through
He began this good work in me
He will carry it to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

Amen.

One thought on “Reflections

I Would definitely love to read your comments on this post. Leave one here

